In 1859, the congregation of the Federal Street Church in downtown Boston decided to build a new church in the developing Back Bay. Construction of the Arlington Street Church began that year. The church was dedicated in 1861. This was the first church built in the Back Bay. Some of Solomon Willard’s interior wood carvings from the old Federal Street Church are now in the Arlington Street Church (Willard supervised the construction of the Bunker Hill Monument). The Arlington Street Church is known for its sixteen beautiful Tiffany glass windows.